GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Benter's Profile
Benter's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Benter's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the transfer to build latrine and kitchen so l bought 23 iron-sheets at 18400 kshs, 3 bags of cements at 2400 kshs, timber at 1260 kshs, wire-mesh at 500 kshs, bricks at 3000 kshs, nails 1500 kshs, poles 3450 kshs, spend 1500 kshs for transport , also use 2000 kshs to dig latrine, l use 4500 kshs to pay for labor, l also spend 5500 kshs to pay school fees the remaining balance l spend to buy foodstuffs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was being rain on when l was cooking out side but now l am very comfortable in my kitchen.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to pay fees to my child in private school. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement both walls and floor of my house because its always dusty. I'm also planning to build iron roofed kitchen.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a toilet as we currently have none, we also need to build an external kitchen. Some of the money will be used to buy some free range chicken which we will rear and sell their eggs and meat in various markets. The remainder of the transfers I will use to pay school fees for my children who are in primary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having tilled my farm and managed to get a good harvest, the money from selling the produce was quite a lot, I even managed to buy three cows.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we have is lack of enough finances to enable us pay school fees for our children who are in primary school, this means that they are frequently sent home from school due to fee arrears.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am able to relax after working all day, I am also able to spend time with my family and this makes me very happy.