GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 25 iron sheets 21,000KES, 18 roofing poles at 4,100 KES, nails at 1,000 KES, one still door at 6,500 KES, two still windows at 5,000 KES, used 1,000 KES on transportation, 10,000 KES to boost my welding business, paid 1,000 KES school fee for my child.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now able to make income from my welding business which helps me to generate to meet the needs of my house and even pay school fee for my children.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a 210 ml water super drum and a goat. I paid 2,000KES for my group loan table banking and 2,000KES, for my child school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building a big house because what I have is small. I am also planning to start a business to help me earn some more income.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on starting a business, I will buy a donkey so that I can use it to fetch water during dry season, I am also planning to build a bigger house that can accommodate my family well and to build a house for my children where
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that we were able to buy a donkey that we use for transport in our home.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that we usually hire a plough to be used in our farm and during harvest we split the harvest with owner of the plough making us to remain with very little harvest.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning to go and look for some casual jobs so that I can be able to get food to feed my family.