chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent 23000 KES to buy cow-bull, l bought windows at 6000 KES, l paid school fees of 10000 KES to my two children in high school, l spent 4000 KES to pay medical bill, the remaining 6000 KES l spent to buy to 2 sacks of maize.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
There is a big difference in my life because l am eating well, my children are also going to school without any problem.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a sack of maize at 3,000 KES, clothes for my children at 1,000 KES, five pair of school shoes at 1,500 KES, two chickens at 600 KES, paid 1,500 KES school fee for my children and am still having 1,800 KES cash.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to buy two cows, buy a door and four windows to farnish my house then take my son to do some course.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to invest in farming by purchasing four bulls for ploughing and one dairy cow so as to increase my level of income. I also plan to plaster my house so that it is strong and presentable and buy other household furniture such as chairs because I own none currently.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to feed my children by selling firewood and sisal twine in our local market.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is that I lack sufficient finances to educate my children. I have no proper source of income and the little I earn is not even enough for food. I have a son who dropped out of primary school due to lack of money.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am at home making sisal twine as it's one of my main source of income.