GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Michael's Profile
Michael's family
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($521 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life has really improved since i received the transfer compared to my life before. In our family we don't have enough land and the only work that can boost the family income is sugarcane farming, and this can only be achieved by leasing a piece of land which i have done. This was not possible before due to lack of land. By now I have tilted the land which i have leased, paid for the seed and now waiting for rainfall to begin for planting. I am hopeful that i will fetch a lot of money out of farming which I will use to meet my family needs and initiate other development project like dairy farming.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GiveDirectly has really empowered our community by giving unconditional cash and give people mandate and freedom to make their own decisions on financial expenditure. On the other hand, there is no structure on spending and this has resulted to careless utilization of this money since some believe that it's a free money and therefore spend it on immorality, alcoholism and drugs which finally rendered them hopeless there after.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
i have spent my second transfer in renovation of my house because the house i used to have was very small and could not accommodate the number of my family, this has generated some ill perceptions as people were mocking me that for how long will I stay in that small house. I also leased a parcel of land for sugarcane planting since, sugarcane farming is the economic activity in our area and it fetches good income. I believe that this will enable me to generate good money for my children's education fees.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($537 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life since I received this transfer is that I now have my own motorcycle. I used to do a motorcycle taxi business but with someone's motorcycle and at the end of the day, I had to pay him KES 300 which was the major part of what I make in a day. The remaining part which I used to take home, was very little even for our daily expenditure. This was the only consistent source of income so I had to keep up even though I knew I could not develop my life with this. When I received this transfer, I used it to buy my own motorcycle which I use for taxi business. Right now from the three weeks I have had it, I have been able to save KES 700 apart what we use daily. I feel my life is now progressing and this is because of Give Directly.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was very happy as I could not believe this was true. When I was told I would receive money from GD, I knew they were making fun of me and I despised it. I never knew someone could give such amount of money without having to work for it or pay later. Honestly, GD has taken me to a higher step I never knew I could reach.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying a motorcycle which I use for business purposes. I used to do motorcycles business but with someone's motorcycle and it was very hectic because, from my daily revenue, I used to give the owner KES 300 and the little that would remain was not enough to meet my family needs. When I received this transfer, I used it to buy my own second-hand motorcycle so that I do not have to work another person again.
access_time over 5 years ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that I am going to get out of shame that I have been in, in that I am now going to take care of myself and my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening after accomplishing my daily activity ,as a boda boda man, I always feel good when I gather with my family in the evening because people normally die on the road almost daily.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in my life is lack of money to build a good house, pay school fees for my children and buy my own motorcycle which I can use to take care of my family,as at now I have been using someone else's motorcycle.