GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Kahindi's Profile
Kahindi's family
Kahindi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
59
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($518 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Had it not been the financial help, I wouldn't have managed to bring my house to completion. I have now finished the construction and moved into it. Apart from the house, I also bought thirteen goats that I now own. These are assets to me which which will help me in case of a financial problem. I did not have any livestock before the coming of GiveDirectly, thus having them is the greatest achievement to me.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly does well in the selection of the needy households in every village to uplift their lives. It was done well since there are no complaints from their operations as they work from village to village. I don't see anything that GiveDirectly does not do well.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I had began building a new house but I did not have enough resources to finish it. The materials got depleted in the process. However, when I received my second transfer, I purchased the remaining materials that include iron sheets, timber and nails for roofing. I also paid for the cost of labour. Apart from this , I also purchased ten goats which I am currently rearing and keeping in my homestead. I am expecting them to reproduce and have many of them. I will sell the offspring to help me out in case of any financial challenge. I also purchased some foodstuffs and other household basic needs, including paying for other household expenses.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($543 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now have goats. I had to buy goats because they reproduce twice a year and to add on that they require little attention to keep compared to other domestic animals. Their food is also easily available since they can live in any type of climate. When they multiply, I am planning to sell some in our local markets and apart from that I will exchange some for a dairy cow so that I can get milk and sell them and this will be my additional income. And according to me these are my well thought assets that will help me in the near future.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 3 am when I saw the Mpesa message from GiveDirectly. I was overwhelmed with joy because I knew my life will never be the same again.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of my first transfer on purchasing nine goats. I decided to buy goats because they reproduce twice a year. This means they will increase in number at a high rate. I then bought twenty pieces of iron sheets to renovate my grass thatched house. I paid school fees for my children and finally with the remaining amount of money I bought sufficient food that would take us up to the next season.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I never managed to go to school and all my life I have only known how to take care of livestock to earn a living. For a very long time, I have really wished to have some of my own and I have really struggled to get the four goats that I have currently and an ox plough. In order to boost my farming, I normally hire my neighbours oxen's to plough my farm since I have the ox plough but now that I will be receiving this money, I plan to buy my own pair of oxen so that I have the complete set to expand my farming. I will also buy goats for rearing and invest the rest of my transfer in the livestock trade business which I am very conversant with in order to generate income for my family for many years to come.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I wake up very early to take the livestock that I herd out to the fields to graze. By around noon, I return home for lunch and take opportunity of the scotching sun to rest under my tree shade until around three when I head out to the fields to tend to my main source of income of cutting down logs to burn charcoal. By the time that I return in the evening, it is usually very late thus afternoon hours marks the happiest part of my day when I am resting.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Not having a stable source of income to tend to the ever growing needs of my family is the biggest hardship that I face in life. I rely on burning charcoal for selling to fend for my family but the income that I get is hardly enough to enable me provide food for them consistently and also afford keeping my children in school. Last year my son performed well and was supposed to join secondary school but due to lack of finances, I was not able to admit him. He is still languishing at home and I do not know where to take him so that he does not feel idle and join bad company.