chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > John's Profile
John's family
John
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
62
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent most of my third transfer on paying school fees for my three children in secondary school and the other in college who, was taking a course in electrical engineering. I am happy they were not sent out of school for school fees arrears. The remaining I spent on food for my family consumes.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
From my second transfer, i bought iron sheets at 10,800 KES, bought 1 cow at 16,000 KES, bought building posts at 2,500 KES, spent 2,000 KES to pay school fees for my children, bought clothes for my children at 1,200 KES, bought cushions at 12,000 KES and the remaining 5,500 KES, I spent to buy food for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life is different in that, I now have a cow, have cushions and also have managed to prepare my land for cultivation
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6,300 KES to buy 9 iron sheets and spent 3,000 KES to pay school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to complete payment of school fees and also buy a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use it for farming, poultry keeping business, building a kitchen, buying household items and paying school fees for my children in secondary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
When I have a bumper harvest from my farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Our income is so little it's not enough to fend for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
When am able to provide for my children food.