GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Damaris's Profile
Damaris's family
Damaris
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
Kenya Large Transfer
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Damaris's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
Receiving these transfers is a significant opportunity for me and my family. Firstly, I plan on spending $40 towards daycare fees for my daughter, ensuring she continues to learn and develop while awaiting pre-primary school in 2025. The remainder of the funds will be dedicated to finally completing our 3-bedroom house, a project that has been on hold for over 5 years due to financial constraints. My husband, Elvis, works as a carpenter to provide for us, but his earnings solely cover our basic needs, leaving no room for savings. This job is temporary and he can miss out on some days. On a good month, he earns $300 from this job. Completing our home has been a long-standing aspiration, and once achieved, it will provide us with comfort and relief from the dust and unfinished floors. I am filled with gratitude for this opportunity to create a more stable and comfortable living environment for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The past five months have been filled with immeasurable joy since welcoming our baby boy into the world. After almost four years since our firstborn daughter, adding another member to our family has brought a sense of completeness and happiness that words cannot fully express. I am incredibly grateful for this blessing and for the love and unity that now fills our home as we journey through life together as a family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
As a wife and mother of two toddlers, I feel the weight of responsibility on my shoulders to ensure my family has enough food. Cooking requires both firewood and water, which means I have to travel up to 5 kilometres to fetch them. It is a time-consuming and exhausting task, especially since I cannot afford the daily $1.5 for a motorbike. My husband Elvis, a carpenter, supports our family, but his income barely covers our food expenses, leaving nothing as surplus. Despite the challenges, I do my best to manage and provide for my family's needs.