chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent on building an iron roofed house at 30,000 KES. I also bought a goat at 2,500, bedding, clothes and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I used to work as a farmhand to earn a living, but currently I have some penny to buy food.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought a solar light , l also bought a goat , water container, l also bought food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to pay school fee , l also plan to buy a steel door and plaster my door.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to renovate my house by putting glass windows and plastering my house . Secondly l would wish to buy a cow which can help me in future. Lastly l would like to buy household items for my house to avoid frequent borr
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that l struggled to buy a goat. Secondly l have also managed to build my own house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening after selling fish and getting some money to feed my family.