GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Rennice's Profile
Rennice's family
Rennice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rennice's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($549 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have prepared my farm ready for planting, something that used to be straining in my life. I have two milking cows that I never dreamed of having, and finally I am able to eat well with my family. And doing savings for future us.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I have Berber shop as family's income generating activity, but this could not be enough to meet the family needs. Receiving the money was a light of hope in my life and shaded off the darkness of poverty. I am definitely happy because I have done the progress compared to my past life.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my transfer on farming, that is, ploughing, buying fertilizer, seeds and farm tools and equipments. I also bought two milking cows which would provide family with milk for nutritional needs, and surplus we could sell for family's income. I have started sheep rearing project. Our region is a sheep rearing field. For that matter, I bought three sheep as a form of investment for future use. These animals I plan to dispose for my children school fees after they shall have multiplied.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that I will be able to buy cows and pay dowry. For a long time I have struggled to save money so that I be able to pay dowry but I have always used my savings either to buy food or medical expenses to my little children because they go to a public school where they contract communicable diseases like measules so at long last I will receive large money that will enable me achieve this milestone. In our culture before I pay dowry my woman is seen more as a girl friend than a wife and paying her dowry will give me a sense of ownership and full transition from youth to a married adult. I will use the second transfer to open my wife a saloon business next to where I have my Berber shop. In doing this we shall be able to raise more money to enable us transfer our children to private school where quality education is offered.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is usually in the morning because I wake up to prepare my children for school, I have to talk to them happily to motivate them to study hard. Nights can be very long with little children because of frequent illnesses and any night without incident brings a happy morning.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is lack of money. You find that I am the only one working in my family, yet sometimes there are very few clients and out of the little income I have to budget for everything in my house right from school fees, uniforms, food and medication, sometimes when my children fall sick abruptly I end up borrowing from friends without clear definite time of refund, like last month one of the friend that I owe cash took my shaving machine as collateral until I pay him back the money I borrowed from him.