GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Janet's Profile
Janet's family
Janet
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
Kenya Large Transfer
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53010 KES ($359 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
As a single parent, my primary goal for the upcoming years is to secure my son's education by promptly covering his school fees and providing the necessary educational materials. I firmly believe that investing in his education is a crucial step towards securing our financial future. To realize this objective, I plan to concentrate on my tailoring business, striving to maximize profits by delivering top-notch service to my clients. This way, I aim to proudly create a stable and prosperous future for both my son and myself.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GD has made a significant impact by providing us with unconditional cash transfers. Thanks to these transfers, I have been able to turn my dreams into reality. When GD stepped in, I was facing immense challenges, struggling to support my son with no source of income except for small-scale farming. I had acquired tailoring skills but lacked the resources to start my own business. The GD transfers provided the much-needed boost, allowing me to launch my tailoring business, which is now thriving. This has not only brought me pride as a mother but also ensured that I can provide the best for my son, and for that, I am truly grateful to GD.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I noticed that my child was facing challenges in the public school he used to attend, primarily because it was underperforming. The main reason he was enrolled there was due to the free education it offered, as I lacked the financial means to send him to a better school. However, upon receiving the transfers, I made a deliberate decision to invest in his education. I designated $100 to cover his school fees and allocated an additional $50 to purchase a new uniform. This ensured a fresh start in a more reputable school. Since this transition, I have witnessed a remarkable improvement in my child's academic performance, and I'm genuinely thankful to GD for providing me with this opportunity. Additionally, I initially kick-started a tailoring business in our community with the first transfer. With the second transfer of funds, I wisely invested $150 in materials, expanding my sales and customer orders. This strategic move significantly boosted my income, with earnings ranging from $10 to $40, marking a substantial improvement from the initial $5 weekly. To further secure my family's well-being, I utilized the remaining funds to purchase food, ensuring my son and I have a sufficient supply to tide us over while waiting for the harvest from my half-acre maize farm.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES
access_time over 1 year ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
My phone was off when the transfers arrived. I was in town at the time and had left my phone charging at home. The first transfer was officially confirmed to me by the people I met. At the time, I had to ask the mobile money agent for the Till number, which I later used to withdraw after confirming my receipt at home. When I returned to the shopping center the next day, I was very excited to collect the money.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The most significant change in my daily life has been the purchase of a new tailoring machine, which has provided a sustainable source of income for my family of two. Starting my own business was a dream that became a reality thanks to GiveDirectly's support. Despite the fact that I do not have enough space to set it up, I am grateful that the work has come from the shared space in my friend's shop.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I completed the tailoring course a year ago and have been working on casual jobs in my friend's tailoring shop ever since because I could not afford a tailoring machine. After receiving the first transfer, I decided to purchase one for $150, which I am currently using. Even though I have not found a strategic location for my own shop, I am grateful that my friend still accommodates me in her shop while I work independently and earn a living. I also spent $180 on a heifer, which I hope will aid in milk production in the future. I had been purchasing milk for my family of two, which was very expensive because I did not have a reliable source of income. In addition, I saved the remaining funds, which helped me purchase more goods for my business, such as fabrics and threads.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 1 year ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I trained on Tailoring at Siwot polytechnic, I am highly skilled on it and it has been my passion. I schooled with the challenge of school fees and finally made it, thanks to government bursaries.I had wanted to buy a sewing machine and be able to work and get income to better my life. The dream has been elusive for so long because of lack of finances. I am glad that with this money my ambitions will finally come into fruition. I intend to buy a sewing machine worth $220 and set to work immediately in the nearby Kapkwen market. I will use the rest to buy the sewing materials and rent a premise to enable my business to be up and running.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I had no peace while I was staying at my paternal home. My elder brother had started assaulting me from time to time and I was afraid he might eventually harm me and so I had to relocate to this place. I am happy I have been able to enjoy peace and serenity and go about my life peacefully. Life had taken a toll on me, I was ever stressed and miserable. Each day I would stay in fear and had bad thoughts that my brother could harm me the same way as my mother.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My brother, 27 years is in jail and it disturbs me a lot. The unfortunate events that led to his being jailed are also haunting. He sort of had a mental problem that was on and off. So one night he hit my mother with a blunt object and killed her instantly. He was arrested and jailed his state of mind notwithstanding, he has not been able to stand a trial because is not stable in his mind, up until recently he was not even aware of what transpired. We were in court yesterday to hear the matter but it was postponed. We talked with him and we were happy to see him, we have forgiven him because we know it was not deliberate but it was because of his state of mind. We pray that he will be released soon because if he is not released it will be a double tragedy for us. He is suffering too much and if he continues cooling his heels in jail we are afraid his health might deteriorate further.