GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Johnson's Profile
Johnson's family
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Johnson's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I started a charcoal selling business with 25,000 KES and I saved the remaining amount to start another project in future.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The business I started has enabled to get a steady daily income that allows me to meet my daily expenses.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I boosted my scrap metal business, because I had used much of the capital and my profit has been low. I also gave 4,000KES to a relative who had given birth and was going through financial difficulties.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to add the money together and buy a motor bike for transport business, because the one am using is in poor condition.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to use our transfer to buy another motorcycle to help boost our transport business..The motorbike I own currently is second hand and beaks down more often.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I'm proudest of is having been able to move from an employed motorbike rider to my current situation where I own my own motorbike even though it's second hand and old.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face currently is on making ends meet since my motorbike is old and keeps on breaking down,when this happens I just sit at home with no other source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during the evening when I come back home from my transport business with some food for the family, I get happy to see the family sitted together happily.