GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Peter's Profile
Peter's family
Peter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
59
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($469 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer to construct a new and bigger house to replace the small one-roomed house that I was living in. I also bought a small heifer to keep in my compound, two goats and seats to put in my sitting room since I lacked good seats in my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Before I got the transfers, I was living in a very small one-roomed house where my family was seriously squeezing inside. However, thanks to money from GiveDirectly I was able to construct a new and bigger house with enough space for everyone to keep their belongings and comfortably sleep.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first cash transfer on buying 10 pieces of iron sheets 6,500 KES, paid hospital bill 800 KES, bought 20 tins of maize 1,000 KES and spent the remaining 1,600 KES on buying food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to spend my upcoming cash transfer on building a house, buy furniture, and an oxen plough.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
My main plan is to buy building materials like iron sheets, timber,nails,doors, windows and pay for labour for my house construction.I also plan to use part of it to pay school fees for my son in form two and to buy food with the rest.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have worked hard in my farm and also in selling sisal and managed to buy land where I stay and farm currently.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest challenge is that I need to pay dowry for my wife but I do not have money to do it.My other challenge is that I am a farmer but I lack money to improve my farm ,this always make me get very low produce.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest time is in the morning when I go to work in my farm because that is where I get food.