chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Ludia's Profile
Ludia's family
Ludia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Ludia's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a semi-permanent house of 35 iron sheets with 47000 KES of my first lumpsum transfer then I paid secondary school fees for my 2 children with the remaining 3000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I initially used to live in a small house that could not accommodate my visitors; I used to walk around the whole village asking for their sleeping place-which could make villagers treat me like a vagabond, however, this is no longer the case since I built a bigger house in courtesy of GD, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on buying 1 steel door for 7,000 KES and paying school fee for 3,000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on extending our current house and cementing the floor, and if there will be a balance we will pay secondary school
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for my children, build a new house and buy some goats to breed.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was being able to build my house. This is because I built it with the savings I had accumulated in my local women's group.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of a steady source of income to pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning, when I wake up and l confirm that everyone in my home is alive.