GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Kavumbi's Profile
Kavumbi's family
Kavumbi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
workCampaign
Kenya Basic Income
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Kavumbi's next check-in.
 
22nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($27 USD)
access_time 12 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
In the coming year and beyond, I want to focus on buying a mattress and a bed. With two children and a house given to me by my parents after separating from my spouse, I want to ensure that I maintain a clean and comfortable house for my children. Currently, our biggest need is proper bedding, as our current mattress and bed are too small and old. We are making do with the situation while we look for a better option. Therefore, in the upcoming year, I plan to use my transfer to purchase a better and more spacious mattress and bed. I am grateful to GiveDirectly for easing my financial situation and making it easier for me to acquire these much-needed items.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I received my most recent transfer, I spent $30 to buy food for our family consumption to ensure we have enough to last us for at least several days. With the remaining $68, I bought roofing materials and replaced the old roof. A heavy wind partially blew off my house roof, and I had to replace it urgently for safety reasons. I am grateful to GiveDirectly for the financial support as it has enabled me to meet my immediate need of repairing the roof of my house.
 
18th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($22 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have been working on building a house which is now complete and myself and my children are staying there. I however do not have house furniture. I need a bed, I have asked around and was told I would need about $120 to buy a bed and around $50 for anew mattress. My plan is to redirect my entire transfers into savings to ensure I am able to reach this goal before the year ends.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I have been working on a project to build a house since I have not had my own place. I separated from my husband a long time ago and I have been living with my mother. I used my November transfers to buy an iron sheet and wood and also pay for a mason to make my door for the new house. I used the rest of the money to pay a school fees debt I had at $10 for my child. The rest of the money bought toiletries and vegetables. I used my entire December transfers on food. I have not used my January transfers I have saved the entire amount.
 
14th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My primary objective for the coming year and beyond is to complete the construction of my house. I aspire to achieve this goal by persistently saving the transfers I receive. This endeavor holds great importance as it will provide a secure living space for both my children and me, granting me a profound sense of peace and security. Thank you Give Directly for the assistance you have given us.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am a casual laborer, engaging in various tasks within my village to secure a livelihood and provide sustenance for my children. Following my separation from my husband, I now live with my parents and I am immensely grateful for the assistance I've received from Give Directly, which has significantly improved my life. With their support, I have embarked on the journey of constructing my own home, made possible through a loan provided by a savings club I joined. I used $68 to offset a portion of this loan, and an additional $20 went towards clearing school fee arrears for my children. The remaining $14 was allocated to purchasing food for my family, a necessity we were lacking.
 
10th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
In the coming months, I plan to start constructing my own home. Since my divorce from my husband, I've been living on my parents' property. My two children are also with me, and we do not have much privacy. Since then, my ambition has been to construct a home for myself and my children. So far, the transfer and my small savings have enabled me to purchase 14 pieces of iron sheets, and I intend to purchase more for a larger house as well as begin purchasing building poles. Despite surviving on menial jobs with low pay, the transfers enabled me to save and purchase some of the materials. Having my own home, where I can live peacefully with my children under one roof, will be my greatest achievement.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I moved to my parent's house after divorcing my husband, and I've been surviving on menial jobs like laundry and casual construction jobs while staying at my parent's house ever since. At my age, I was not at ease staying at my parents' compound. I couldn't get the privacy I wanted. I was only making $10 per week and could sometimes go days without working. The additional burden of paying fees for my two children made building a house difficult. After paying my children's fees, however, I was able to save some money from my menial jobs and $24 from the monthly transfers. I've already purchased 14 iron sheets and plan to start buying building poles to start construction. Aside from that, I used the remainder of the funds to purchase long-lasting foods such as maize flour and cereals. This ensured that my children were fed adequately and did not go to school hungry. I am glad that I can effectively budget for food, unlike before, when my children could go for some days without food, which almost affected their studies negatively.
 
6th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($28 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My main objective for this year is to construct a home. I haven't felt particularly proud of living in my parents' home for the past three years. Although it will take me some time, my long-term objective is to have all the supplies I need to construct the two-room house by the end of the year. I'm confident that I can purchase the necessary 24 pieces of ironsheets, building poles, cement, and building stones by setting aside a portion of my income and a portion of my monthly transfer. When the building is finished and I'm ready to move in, my heart will burst with happiness.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My only option after divorcing my husband was to return to my father's home. Since then, I've become very motivated to construct my own home. Currently, I reside in my father's home, but I believe the time has come for me to leave and establish my independence. I was able to purchase five sheets of iron sheeting last year with the money I saved from the transfer. I saved $19 after receiving my January transfers, money I'll use to buy more ironsheets. I sometimes struggle to support the family because I'm the only provider and only work on odd casual jobs. I am responsible for providing food for my son, my parents, and myself. I am appreciative of the January transfers because they arrived just in time when I was having financial difficulties. I spent $15 on food, enough to feed the family for two weeks without them going hungry.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3050 KES ($25 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
attach_money
 
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion GiveDirectly does very well by giving support in form of cash. Everyone is thus empowered and are in a position to make informed decisions on what they need contrary to a situation where people are given material things which they may not require.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am a mother of two children, the first born being 18 and the second born being 12. One of my children dropped out of school at an early age and is now engaging in odd casual jobs to re arn a living. Life has not really been that easy for us after I divorced m to husband many years a go. I have had to depend on odd casual jobs just to make ends meet for my family. I came home and we had to stay under the same roof with my parents. I could not be in a position to build a new house for us since I depended on casual work to earn an income. Getting money for food alone has lately been a toll order. When I started receiving payments from GiveDirectly, I felt so much happy and relieved about it. I am determined to make some savings that will see me build our own house and we move into it soon. It is fir this reason that I recently saved $10 that will be used to buy iron sheets. The plan is to buy pieces of iron sheets until it's enough to build a new house. I also used another $10 to pay school fees for one of my children who is still in school. Getting money to pay school fees has been very hard lately because of the rising cost of living.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1200 KES ($10 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was on my way home from my usual work when I received a confirmation message of the receipt of my first transfer. This came as surprise because I was not sure whether it would be sent as we had been promised. I felt excited deep within me and kept on smiling knowing I would finally start the journey towards constructing a house for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The hope of soon owning a house is the biggest difference in my daily life. This has been my dream but I had nothing to motivate me toward achieving it due to my low income from casual work. I do laundry within the village earning 200 KES whenever I am lucky to get one because they are not reliable. This can barely afford household meals. With the transfers, I am sure the dream of having my own house will soon come true.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I plan to construct a house. Currently, I have a family of 2 children, and we all stay at my mother's house. My marriage did not work out hence we parted ways with my husband and I had to come to my mother because I had nowhere to go. It is not comfortable, and we do not have privacy anymore because we are currently ten people in the family. I have, therefore, saved 1100 KES of the first transfer which I will later add to the coming transfers, and some of my savings and later use them to purchase building materials for constructing my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I left my marital home 17 years ago because my husband could not pay my dowry and since I did not have a house my mother allowed me to live with her. Living in a two-roomed house with 12 people is not easy because of the space and lack of privacy. My dream has always been to put up a structure where I can move in with my two children so that we can have a space and privacy. Lack of money has, however, been a challenge and this has made me not realize this dream. Received these transfers will change all that since I plan to use the money in buying building materials every month until I get enough to kick off the house construction.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Getting casual jobs is not easy mostly in the villages. It is more like gambling because sometimes you get it and other times you do not. As much as surviving with these jobs are not easy since they pay less I am glad that I cannot go for more than a week without succeeding in getting one. Recently I managed to get a gardening job that gave me 1000 KES, this money came at a time when we had nothing to feed on in the house. The happiness that I had and saw in my family's faces was priceless.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I depend on casual jobs to feed my family and provide for other basic needs like education and shelter. It is frustrating because the money I make is however not sufficient to meet all these responsibilities. I am used to eating a meal per day nowadays so that I can save some coins for tomorrow's food and this has therefore caused nutritional problems for my children. The current challenge that I face is lack of permanent employment that can take all my financial constraints away.