GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Susan's Profile
Susan's family
Susan
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
18
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($468 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on plastering my house for business purposes. I now have a nice house with good stock and I am able to meet my family needs. I also paid for my maternity fees when as I was expecting my first born.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on purchasing decent clothes for the new born baby who is yet to be welcomed into the word,food to sustain the family,paid workers to prepare my parcel of land,kept some money that I will pay as hospital bills,fixed new roofs and spent most of the transfer on purchasing dairy cattle hoping to get milk which I will sell and get income.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am hopeful of a better future because of the things that I bought like the cows that I will definately sell the milk to get income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer to mattress for 3000 KES, clothes for 2500 KES, maize for consumption for 3200 KES and the remaining 1200 KES i spent to buy food and other household expenses.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to start a shop business with my upcoming transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to spend our transfer to buy chicks and feeds so that we can start a poultry project as a source of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is buying some household items with the money I saved from doing casual work.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing is lack of a regular source of income, because we both don't have jobs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am relaxing in the house.