GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Peter's Profile
Peter's family
Peter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
44
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($468 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
From my second transfer, I spent 12,000 KEs to pay school fees , spent 10,000 KES to pay graduation fee, spent 15,000 KES to buy cedar poles for fencing, spent 10,000 KES to buy barbed wire for fencing, and the remaining 2,700 KES I spent on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have fenced my compound, paid graduation fee for my son and also paid school fees for my child.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid school fees of 6500 KES, contributed 1000 KES for funeral and bought food with token payment. with
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to clear school fees arrears and fence my home with the upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'm planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my son who is currently in form four and the rest I will use to fence my compound and buy myself some furniture for the house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I'm most proudest of is having been able to see my first born child through university education,it was not easy doing this since I have no constant source of income.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship currently in my life is on paying school fees for my children,most of the time I'm forced to borrow money left and right just to ensure they stay in school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is normally in the morning when I visit my farm to weed hoping for better yields when harvesting season sets in.