GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Betha's Profile
Betha's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Betha's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy a cow (18000), building poles (2500), iron sheets (7000), a sack of maize (3500), school uniforms and shoes (1130), paid fee (780), gave my husband to boost his fish business (10000) and bought food (6500).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I never thought i will have livestock in my compound but i now have several that will help me get income from milk and selling the young ones when need arises. I will also build another house that my children and visitors can use.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought some two sheep with a portion of the transfer. I also purchased foodstuffs with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy a parcel of land where I'll establish my home.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy land and start a small business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having bought goats. This is because I saved the profits from my small grocery business and after a while managed to get enough cash to buy the goats.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face right now is reduced income from my spouses job. He is a fisherman and right now fish stocks are low in the lake.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is around midday. This is because I get a chance to visit my neighbors and we chat.