chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Joanes's Profile
Joanes's family
Joanes
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
53
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on plastering my house.I also paid 7,000 KES school fees for my children and bought solar panel.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of buying a water tank for fetching rain water.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a strong house which doesn't need constant repair.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 10000 kshs to pay school fees , l bought cement at 12550, windows at 8000 kshs l had dept of 10000 kshs l use the money to pay, labour 5000 kshs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l have a more comfortable house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to buy a solar lamp and a radio. I also paid 3,000 KES to my son in high school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement both walls and floor of the house because at the moment it is earth. I'm also planning to buy a bull with the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First,we would like to buy household furnitures since we have none,we would also like to spend some on school fees.Secondly,we would like to buy some cows that will aid in farming inorder for us to get enough farm produce.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement we are proudest of is owning enough farm produce that can feed the whole family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Our biggest hardship is that we have not been able to raise school fees because we lack a proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I able to go to work to fend for my family.