chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Nancy's Profile
Nancy's family
Nancy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Nancy's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We built a house with 43000 KES, bought a bed 5000 KES, uniforms 1200 KES and spent the rest on small expenses like buying food and transport.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is having build a big house that suits the whole family. We lived in a very small house before.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a larger portion of the transfer to built a kitchen. I also enlarge my retail shop business with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a spacious iron roofed house with the coming transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build an external kitchen which will also serve as a kitchen coop and then try and build a better house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having taken my children to a private school, they used to learn in a public school but we have managed to save our income and finally enrolled them in an academy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we face is lack of enough money to pay school fees for our children, our income is not much and when you consider that we have to feed and clothe our children, it becomes very difficult to cater for all their needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up, this is because I have a chance to look for some work which will translate to some income and ultimately food for my family.