GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Milka's Profile
Milka's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I paid a debt of 3000 KES and still saving 44000 KES which am still planning to use.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I now have new goal of cementing my house and buying a calf which I did not have before receiving transfers.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different because I do not have school fees debt and we have a business with my husband which is giving us income. Besides we have plans for repairing our house which we couldn't have done without the transfers.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I sent the transfer to my spouse in Nairobi to use it to buy a motorbike to act as a source of income for us .
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen in my life is that now we own a source of income.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES for school fees for our children to keep them in school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
My husband to wish to increase capital for his business as a magazine/newspaper vender, so we agreed that he will use the money sao that he can increase his profits.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to set up a workshop for tailoring services. I am a trained tailor and I'd like to put my skills into use so that I am able to support my spouse with our financial needs.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proudest of taking good care of my children as a mother.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of a proper source of income. As a woman I feel desperate to engage in an income generating activity so that I stop depending entirely on my spouse because that brings a lot of conflict in my marriage.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is the morning when I wake up because not everyone who goes to sleep wake up alive.