chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Jenipha's Profile
Jenipha's family
Jenipha
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jenipha's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 15,000 KES school fee for my high school child, one cow at 17,000 KES, a sofaset at 14,000 KES, paid a deposit of 2,000 KES for a solar lamp then used the rest of the cash on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am no longer using paraffin to light my house because I now have a solar lamp.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 6,000 KES school fees. I bought a mattress at 3,000 KES. I spent the remaining amount on consumables.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy a cow and to start clothes business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to start a business with the transfer money. I also plan to use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my daughter. I also plan to use part of the transfer to buy two cows.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proud of is that I have managed to build a house for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is food insecurity. Due to arid nature of the land, it has been difficult to grow enough crops to feed the family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am able to get food for my kids.