GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Samuel's Profile
Samuel's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a cow at 20,000 KES. I also added a capital of 20,000 KES to my business,bought 8 bags of cement at 6,000 KES and paid labour for plastering my house.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of buying a motorcycle.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because my business is doing well since I added capital to it hence I get good profits.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying 10 bags of cement ksh 7500, labor ksh 3000,6 pieces of iron sheets ksh 3840,sand ksh 4000 and still keeping ksh 30000 to spend on starting up a shop .
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen is that now i have hopes of having my own source of income.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the transfer to build a mall shop where I'll run my retail shop business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy a second hand motorbike for business purpose as I wait for the third transfer to invest in retail shop.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on starting a business of selling households items since my village has no such business and this will be a good business opportunity.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is having been able to build my current house and buy household items I used to be homeless.Working at a quarry made all this possible.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship in my life currently is on paying school fees for my two children.The casual job I do is never a promise.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is normally in the evening when we sit down as a family and take our meal.Seeing my young children eat makes me happy.