chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
53
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($474 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on building my son a house 30000 KES and use the remaining 18000 KES for my daily upkeep.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goals is to start cereals since its a good business here in the village.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different if i never received the transfer i wouldn't manage to build my son a house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30000 KES on 3 windows, cement and labor charges for plaster the outside walls of my house, 15000 KES on university fees for my son, 3000 KES on secondary school fees for my child and 1800 on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The walls of my house were falling off and since i plastered the house is as good as new.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my transfer to pay secondary school fees for my child (5000), a bag of maize (3200) and food (1690).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to replace my roof and plaster my house with my upcoming lump-sum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on school fees. I will clear my son's balance so that he can learn without any interference.I am also planning to buy some few bags of cement and hire workers who will plaster my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I am self employed and I am happy that right now I'm making my own money hence I don't have to depend on my spouse to provide me with everything.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that,sometimes my children are always sent away due to lack of school fees and since I cannot afford to raise their school fees due to low income,they usually stay at home until I raise their fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when having dinner together with my children as we chat because that is when I get to know each person's personality.