<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kennedy's Profile
Kennedy's family
Kennedy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
23
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Kennedy's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy 2 cows and clothes for dowry payment (38250), used 3500 for weeding and bought maize and food (8000)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Culturally, I could not move to my own compound and do other developments i desired but since i managed to pay dowry, i am now free to begin the process. I am so thankful to GD because it could have taken me along time to achieve this.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on purchase of house construction materials.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on buying more materials for house construction.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy cows and use them to pay dowry, I will also use part of the transfers to buy cement, iron sheets and poles and use them to build a house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is having grown cassava and after harvesting them I managed to buy a cow with the profits.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face right now is lack of enough finances to build a proper house for my family. Currently my only source of income is if I get some casual labor work but these are difficult to get.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the evening when I finally get to relax and spend time with my family, seeing them eating, laughing and talking really makes me happy.