chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Susan's Profile
Susan's family
Susan
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Tailoring
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Susan's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($516 USD)
access_time 16 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was overwhelmed with joy when I realized I had received my first transfer from GiveDirectly. I immediately started planning on how I will utilize my transfer appropriately.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the fact that my retail shop now giving me good profits. I am now finding it easy to send my children to school and support all other family members. Providing for my family was a great challenge because my spouse was the family's breadwinner and he did not have a stable income. I am now ambitious and happier because the returns that I get per day are enough to sustain my family in the near future courtesy of GiveDirectly.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer on starting a new business of a retail shop. I also saved KES 20000 in my bank account just in case I have an emergency I will be able to settle it down. I also bought some plastic chairs and a table because previously I have been using some mats. The remaining amount of money, I bought sufficient foodstuffs for my family that would take us to the next harvesting season.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Having a stable source of income has been my greatest desire. At the moment, I depend on my husband who is a tailor at Bamba Center and because his income can hardly suffice our needs, oftentimes we are constrained financially. Receiving this money, therefore, will enable me to start a kiosk business that will supplement whenever there is a lack, and being over-reliant on one person will be something of the past. I also intend to improve my house from the current state - it is not spacious and can barely accommodate all of us. And that is what receiving this money means to me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Evening is the happiest part of my day. This is the time when my children are back from school, and it is their company and support in undertaking the household chores that I enjoy the most.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of family cohesion has been my biggest hardship for the past one year. My husband used to support us fully, but ever since he stopped coming home, raising children has become a challenge. The assistance that he used to provide us is no longer the same, and it frustrates to endure all burden alone. As a result, food security and quality education of my 4 children is no longer certain. Receiving this money will guarantee me self-employment and consistent income for the family needs.