chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Steve's Profile
Steve's family
Steve
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I paid school fees 20000 KES, bought a cupboard 8000 KES and spending 20000 KES to build a house.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, we have new goals of doing business and educating our children.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have a difference of freedom from school fees burden. Before I received transfers my children could stay home for long after being sent home for fees.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 30000 kshs to pay school fees to my 2 children in high school.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has change because my wife has something to do she is not idle.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 8,000 KES school fees and bought utensils with the remainder.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a house and pay my children's secondary school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build a pit latrine since we do not have any. Secondly l would wish to build a bigger house because my house is very small. Finally l would like to pay school fees for my siblings who are in secondary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have worked hard and bought a motorbike to help us generate income.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is too much responsibility and lack of proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest of part of the day is in the evening when I have made good money and I able to provide for my family.