chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Mebo's Profile
Mebo's family
Mebo
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - non-food (self-employed)
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mebo's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time 29 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from how it would have been had I never received the transfer in that my business is now doing well. Due to this, my daily income has increased and has enabled me to meet my needs on time which I was not able to before. Before starting to receive money from GiveDirectly, I would at times sell only a pair of sandals or rubber shoes or even none because people did not have a variety to choose on. This always made me depend on my spouse on everything. I am glad that this has now changed courtesy of GiveDirectly as I can make more sales in a day because people can now freely choose what they like from my collection.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
It has always been my dream to do a tailoring course but was not able to finish the course after enrolling on it due to lack of school fees. I am now planning on going back to school and pursue my dream. I will use my savings from the business to pay for my tuition fee. I will be able to open a tailoring shop where I will be mending clothes from after completing my course. I will also be selling my shoes Inside this shop hence I will be running two businesses under one roof. This will increase my daily income which I will be using to support my husband in paying some of our bills like paying our house rent.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my most recent transfer to add some stock to my business. This business is my only source of income and expanding it is the only way I can earn more income to use in meeting my family needs. Secondly, I spend part of it to pay an M-shwari debt which I took during my grandmother's burial and I had not cleared paying for it. Because of this, I had been listed with credit clearance bureau (CRB) and I had to use some money also to pay the clearance fee. I saved the remaining amount so that I can use them collectively with my next transfer. I am still planning on how I will effectively use this money in a profitable way.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I did tailoring though I did not finish some class hence I am planning to go back to school to finish the remaining bit. After which, I am planning to buy materials and start a tailoring business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I boosted my second-hand shoe business hence I get a good profit. And this is the biggest difference in my daily life because, through this, I am able to pay my bills, buy food, pay school fees and pay merry go round contribution. I don't depend on my husband anymore on financial assistance as this was a major source of conflict between me and him. We are now staying a happy and peaceful life because I can now chip in handling household needs.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am doing second hand shoe business and when I received this money, the only thing I could think of was to boost it. Most parts of the transfer went to this course. I am glad I have a bigger business now and this means more profits. Some part of the transfer went to transport when I was travelling up- country to see my parent. I also gave them some money for their upkeep out of that transfer.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was a round10 am in the morning, I was washing and I heard my phone beep so I decide d to stop washing to check the message. I was shocked when I saw the message from GiveDirectly that I g=have received Kes 2000. I still could not believe and I rushed immediately to my neighbour's house to check with her if she has also received the same. She too confirmed so and we were very happy and screamed with aloud louder that God has actually seen us.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to boost my business of selling shoes in Huruma Mathare. I will increase my stock especially in this festive season and I therefore hope to get a lot of profit in return. The demand for shoes is high because of the high population providing a ready market for my business. Secondly, I did not complete my tailoring course. I will go back to school and finish, then I will buy a sewing machine and rent a stall in Kariobangi Market in Ruaraka constituency. Lastly, I will buy food for my family.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is lack of a stable source of income because this will make my life and that of my family difficult. I may stay at home and start to over rely on my husband. I may be unable to provide for food or rent in my family and result to beg or be forced to go back upcountry.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to become a successful business woman in future. I would want to have a big company of making clothes and selling in the local market. I will be able to have enough money that will be able to change my life and that of my family. I will be able to provide food, shelter and clothing and live a good life.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual day starts in the morning at 6:00am when I wake up, I wash clothes, do house chores, prepare breakfast and launch for my family before I leave for work. I arrive at my work place at Huruma Mathare at 10:30am where I sell shoes along the road until 6:30am in the evening. I return back in my house prepare for supper and then I retire to bed. On Saturdays I attend group meeting and on Sunday go to church. In my free time, I relax at home, watch movies or sometimes visit friends.