GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Milka's Profile
Milka's family
Milka
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
37
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I never used to have any source of income. When I got the third transfer I decided to start an 'omena' business that would help me sustain my daily needs. The business as we are speaking is doing so well and my living standard has increased. The other portion of the money I used in paying school fees for my child who had fee arrears in school.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($482 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on paying school fee for my son in high school so that he cannot be sent home due to school fee arrears. I also spent the remaining cash on expending my house so that it can be spacious enough to accommodate all my family members comfortably.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is stress free lifestyle that I experience daily due to clearance of school fee for my son and also living in a spacious house fully furnished. Thanks to GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on paying school fees for my son, farming vegetables and buying one sack of maize.I am hoping to sell the vegetables and get profit.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming transfer on paying school for my children, repairing my house and starting fish business to generate more income.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
My first plan is to use part of the transfer is to pay school fees for my daughter who is in secondary school in form two. Secondly, I intend to use the other part of the transfer to invest in vegetable farming like tomatoes and kales. I therefore intend to lease land. Lastly, I plan to spend the remaining amount to buy house furniture.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Having bought two bulls and two sheep from the savings of my casual work is the achievement I am very proud of.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is paying school fees for my child in secondary school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when we are seated with my daughter charting together after she has come back from school.