GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Margaret's Profile
Margaret's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Margaret's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the entire transfer on buying ironsheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house for myself.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now live in a good iron roofed house as oppased to the one I lived in which was in poor condition.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a bed at 4,500 KES. I gave 1,000 KES to my son. I spent the remaining amount on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a house.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'd like to build a better house for my grandchild and I. I'd also like to have a cow for milk.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I an proud of my resilience. I have lived a long life, but I have always been poor. Being a widow, I am proud of never having to depend on others for sustenance. I would rather do casual labour for others to sustain myself.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I have seen a lot of hardship, but the one I most remember is when one of my sons almost died in Uganda. He was a fisherman, but he became sick and his employer abandoned him without a penny. I had to sell part of my land to raise money to bring him home,
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest when I have food in the house because only then can I rest.