chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Loice's Profile
Loice's family
Loice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Loice's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 11 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 1300Hrs and I was just in the house seated. I heard a message come into my phobe and on checking the message, it was the Mpesa message for the transfers. I was very very happy when I saw the message. I was very excited. I am grateful to GiveDirectly.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I was able to build a house. We did not have house as the one that we currently have is small and it is also grass thatched. I am happy my family and I can now live in a comfortable house.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfers to build a bigger and better house for my family and I also bought three goats. We lived in a small house that did not have enough space. I have one child who is two years old and my husband is a security guard. I am a housewife myself and we could never have raised enough money to build a house. I am very grateful to GiveDirectly.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My first priority is building a house when I receive this money. I live in a very tiny house because my other house was swept away by the rains. I will use approximately 500 USD to build a two roomed house. I will then use 150 USD to buy 5 goats. This will act as a future investment for paying school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I spend 4 hours of the morning hours in my farm and 2 hours in the evening. Farming is my source of livelihood. The happiest part of my day is in the morning because I always feel energetic to do the farm activities. My productivity is usually high.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My dream was to study up to college level and become a doctor. However, my dream never came true since I had to drop out of school in primary school after only 7 years. This is because my father who was raised us single handedly after my mother passed on could not afford my school fees. My mother passed on when I was very young. I have never felt that motherly love. I am sure if I had continued with my studies,I could be at a better place than my current situation. I struggle a lot getting income to feed my child.