chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Natasha's Profile
Natasha's family
Natasha
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Natasha's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was at 1pm when I saw a message pop up on my phone and on checking, it was GiveDirectly transfer and I immediately told my sister who was there with me and she was very happy too. Immediately, she also received her transfer. Joy them filled the air and we could not hide how happy we were.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I have been living with my parents in their land where they offered me a place to stay until I got a place of my own. I did not know that it would be this soon and I will forever be grateful to GiveDirectly for giving me the opportunity to buy my own land.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I want to buy a piece of land where I will settle with my children.I also paid school fees and bought school uniform for my children. I bought food and clothes for my family members.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I don't have a land of my own yet I am a single mother of two. The land that we are currently living in is for the family yet in our culture, we don't have share of the land. Therefore, receiving this money will mean independency since I am planning to use Ksh 80,000 to buy 0.2 acre of land and build a house of our own in the near future.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening. This is because I use my entire day working as a casual laborer within the village. My work entails weeding, digging, doing household chores and building houses which is hard to come by. What I get in a day is hardly enough for my family of 2 since I get approximately Ksh 300 as wage. After being paid my dues for day in the evening and going home with food is the joy of my life since I will have fulfilled my duty as a parent.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Inadequacy of finance to cater for my family has been the biggest hardship I have faced in life. I lost my job 4 months ago due to corona virus pandemic which has forced me to look for an alternative source of income. I am currently working as a casual labourer within the village which is hard to come by yet I am a single mother of two. I used to earn Ksh 8,000 a month before I lost my job working as a milk coolant attendant in a wealthy family within the village. My future plans is to buy a land within the village where I can build a house for my family and live a stress free life.