chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Angeline's Profile
Angeline's family
Angeline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Angeline's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($535 USD)
access_time 12 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life ever since I started receiving transfers from Give Directly is that I now have a complete pair of oxen. Previously I used to have one who that could 't plough on its own. I can now plow my farm because I recently bought another one and this has saved me from the expenses of hiring labor. Whenever I did not have enough money for labor, I was forced to dig my own farm alone and this meant that I would only dig and plant a small section of my farm and leave the rest to idle. I am hopeful that I would have a good harvest over the coming season now that I was able to utilize my whole farm. I am also glad that the expenses that usually go to payment of labor was spent on other important activities.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 3 Am, I had just woken up to breastfeed my baby. That is when I got a message notification on my phone. I a bit nervous and wondered who would send me a message at that time of night. I checked, only to realize that it was from GD notifying me that my M-pesa account had been credited with the amount they had promised. I was very happy. I knew that my dream of having another ox shall come true.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of my first transfer to buy an ox. Previously, I owned only one ox and since a pair of oxen is needed to plough, I had to hire the other ox from my neighbors and this was quite expensive. I also bought some building materials such as building poles, iron sheets and nails to construct a new permanent house. The previous one was small and it would leak whenever it rained, sometimes forcing us to take refuge in our neighbor's house. I also cleared my son's school fees arrears to allow him sit for the final exams which were almost kicking off. I finally spent the rest of these transfers on my children's clothing, food, and other household items.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Running a shop business has been my greatest ambition ever since I was married five years ago but this dream has never come through in my life due to financial challenges. I have remained a house wife something that stress up my mind because I depend on my husband who is a casual worker and his earnings are never enough to fully sustain our basic needs. When I receive my transfers from GiveDirectly, my plan was to start a small shop within our village since there is non as at today and this will earn me profit to supplement the little income from my husband. The remaining amount will support me in buying an oxen to help in upscaling my farming. This will reshape my life for the better, a transformation that I have wished for long.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My day is always cool and in most cases I spend it indoors since there are no farm work and also my husband has assumed my role of fetching water from a water pan which takes him one hour to come back using a bicycle. I usually prepare our first meal in the afternoon and share together with my children. In the evening, I get more time with my husband when he is off from his tiresome day's activities where we chat and share our dinner together. Therefore, I consider evening being the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of a reliable source of income has been my biggest hardship ever since I was married. I have four kids to take care of yet my husband is doing casual jobs within the village. Considering his daily pay which is at most two hundred shillings, it cannot fully support our basic needs and this has forced me to skip some meals in a day. It has been shameful but a must to borrow a packet of maize flour from my neighbor in order to feed my small family when my husband has nothing to provide and this has subjected me into mockery.