chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Paschalia's Profile
Paschalia's family
Paschalia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - food (self-employed)
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Paschalia's next check-in.
 
14th Payment
Transfer Amount
3997 KES ($38 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The biggest difference in my daily since I started receiving these transfers is that my business is now doing well. I have relied on the business for the last two years and since it was my main source of income, it has not been doing well. All my needs have been getting from the business and yet I have not been investing more into it. It was going down bit by bit but before it could collapse, I stared receiving GD transfers which have been very helpful in boosting the business. I know very soon, I will be able to rent a premise and I know it will impact positively on my income through the profits.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My additional goal for these transfers is savings for taking my son to school. My son will soon join primary school for the very first time and I would want to have all the necessities when the time comes. this is why I will be saving part f my transfers to help raise enough money to take him to school.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer on boosting my grocery business. The business was not doing well and I did not want to lose it. It has been my main source of income. It has ensured I have all the basic needs over the years and I would not want to lose it now.
 
10th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($49 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The biggest difference in my life is that I am financially stable. I no longer depend on my husband and my mother for me to meet my daily needs. Before the transfers, I did not have any source of income and had to depend on help to meet my daily needs. When I started receiving these transfers, I used it to start a groundnut business which has really brought a lot of difference in my financial life. Instead of me asking for help from my mother as before, I am the one offering the help now. Thanks to GD for the transfers which has changed my story.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Currently, I have a new goal of buying a plot for my mother where she can comfortably do her farming. She does not have enough farming land and she struggles by leasing in land for farming. I would not want these struggles to continue.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer on boosting my groundnuts business by adding more stock to the business. This will enable me to get more profit when I have increased stock. The rest of the transfer I used on paying my house rent and to gift my mother some amount when she needed my financial assistance.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($48 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Right now, I am able to pay my monthly house rent comfortably unlike before the transfers. I did not have a good income to help me sustain all my needs well. I would only depend on the small income from my foodstuff business which was not also doing well. My needs could overwhelm my income and the business was only to provide for our basic needs. The story has changed because on a monthly basis I pay my rent with ease with part of my transfers and I also boost the business through buying more stock on a monthly basis. I have improved profits which also helps me to have an extra income for savings. I feel I am moving in the right direction.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Giving cash to everyone was the best Idea. It was not based on any form of discrimination which brought a lot of peace in our group. We are more united as a result of GD transfers. I do not feel there is anything GD could have done better.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer on paying house rent. I was late with payment and time was due. The landlord had already started asking about the payment. I was glad GD did not allow me to be sent away from my house. The rest of the transfer I used on boosting my food business. It has not been doing well because it has been my main source of income and all my needs did depend on the income from the business. I could not boost the business because I did not have any other income. I am glad the business is now picking up well because I was able to restock and improve on the profits. Thanks to GD.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($49 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Now that I have started receiving money from GiveDirectly, my new goal is to save part of the transfer and use the savings to build my homestead in the countryside. When I shall have completed the construction, it will be the start of dependence and ownership in my life which I have always hoped for but with my meagre income, it seemed achievable.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
My business of vending roasted groundnut in the streets of Nairobi used to give me meagre profits hence paying monthly house rent on time was always a challenge. Due to the late payment, I used to have quarrel and disagreements with my landlord which was very shameful. Currently, my life daily life is different in that I have been able to boost my business and with the double profits I make has enabled me to pay rent without any delay. Thanks to GiveDirectly for a peace of mind.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the larger portion of my most recent transfer to boost the roasted groundnuts business that I do for a living. The profits have doubled a little bit and now providing basic needs for my family is slightly easier. The remaining amount I bought food and paid rent too.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was mid-January at 1:00 PM when I got a Mpesa message notification which showed that GiveDirectly had sent money. I didn't believe what I saw at that point in time and it felt like I was dreaming. I knelt down and prayed to thank God for the blessing He had provided unto me. Then rushed to church a few hours later to seek wisdom on how I would spend the rest of the money.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 1 year ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My plan is to boost my existing business which is selling of snacks and banana so I intend to add more stock. I also plan to save money so that I can open a shop that has all products and enough stock. Lastly is be able to provide for food everyday for my child.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is unemployment because of lack of opportunities. Secondly is daily sustenance meeting daily needs has been a challenge to me. Lastly is housing because I still stay with my parents and it has been difficult for me to be able to afford my own house.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambitions is to become a successful saloonist with a big salon and making more money so that I can live a good life. I also want to educate my younger sister and brother because my parents has not been able to so that they can also help support our parents.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I wake up early in the morning at 6:00am take a shower then prepare for tea and take it. I then brush my teeth and head to baba dogo where I sell fruits and snacks. I sell to the people who are working at baba dogo where their is a lot of industries in that area. I sell until 1:00pm then I come back home and continue selling my products close to my house along the nearest road side until 6:00pm. I then go back home and because I still live with my family I find my sister has already prepared for supper then I eat and sleep. On my free time I go to our table banking group for meetings.