GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
54
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($481 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the larger part of my third transfer on buying a sofa set seat. I also bought a she - cow which has already reproduced and started a small business , I can say its the wisest project I did as the impact is felt till today in that from the profits of the business I mainly spend on feeding my family .
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 26000 KES of my second transfer to clear fees for my daughter in form four. I spent 18000 KES to buy a cow and a calf. I spent the balance to buy food for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that my business that had collapsed has revived. I feared my daughter would not get her certificate but now she is going to get her certificate.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 7,000 KES to pay school fees for my child in secondary school and the rest was spent on food and other daily HH expenses.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy two cows and also complete payment of school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to buy two cows so that we can get milk for my family. Secondly l would wish to pay school fees for my children in secondary school. Finally l would like to build a kitchen for preparing meals for my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled to pay school fees for my daughter in secondary school who is now in form four.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is low source of income to achieve our goals.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when we have something to eat as a family.