chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Celestina's Profile
Celestina's family
Celestina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
47
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought timber 4500 KES, poles 5000 KES, transport 1500 KES, nails 2000 KES, labor cost 5000 KES, food 5000 KES, school fees 10000 KES, spent 5000 KES as capital for my salon business and bought maize for 4000 KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, I have new goals of paying school fees and expanding my salon business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I moved from a small house to a big permanent house, my child is not sent home for school fees like previously and I have a business that is my source of income.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend transfer to buy furniture at 15000 kshs, l also spend the money to buy steel-door at 7000 kshs, 2 window at 4000 kshs, 20 iron sheets at 12600 kshs , l also paid school fees of 10000 kshs to my child in High school,.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has change because l can sit comfortably in my house and my child is also learning without any worry.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the money to admit my 2 children to secondary school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I to buy iron sheet, extend my house and renovate my house to make it look better. I also plan to buy seats and a bed.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer on building a better house,buy saloon equipments and use the rest to pay my children's school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of has been being able to work hard in my farm and use the produce to educate my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship currently has to do with finding ways to pay secondary fees to my two children who just sat their class eight exams.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is during the afternoons when I get some few customers to attend to,I am a saloonist by training.