GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Solomon's Profile
Solomon's family
Solomon
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
60
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I paid school fees of 35000 KES and bought three steel windows of 12000 KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of buying bull cows and ox-plough form farming.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I was worried of where to get money to repair my house and pay school fees. I feel happy because my burdens has been reduced.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 15000 kshs to pay school fees to my child in secondary school, l also spend the money to plaster my house so l bought 10 bags of cement at 8800 kshs, sand at 4500 kshs, labor l pay 6000 kshs and l also bought bed and mattress at 5000 kshs each, the remaining 12000 kshs l spend to buy 4 sacks of maize.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l am eating well without any problem because of GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought ironsheet for repairing the roof of my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy cement and cement the floor and walls of my house. I also plan to repair the roof of my house and replace it with new ironsheet. I will also spend some money on crop cultivation and pay school fees for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 7 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to rebuild my house which is small and pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I have taken my children to school which will help them in the future
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that I have no proper job to take care of family needs
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am working at the quarry where I know I will get some money for my family.