chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Margaret's Profile
Margaret's family
Margaret
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Margaret's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built my main house using 35000 KES of my first lumpsum payment and the remaining 15000 KES on food, school uniform and school fees for my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to stay in a grass thatched house and by the time I started receiving funds from GD, I managed to construct an iron-roofed house that is leak free. I don't have to replace the grass thatched-roof every time hence saving resources and time.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought a supper drum , l bought a solar light . l bought school uniforms and food for the family over the chrismas holiday.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to build iron roof house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy a super drum, clothes for my children, a mattress and the rest of the transfers I will use to build a house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement I can talk of is having bought four goats with my severance pay from a company manufacturing ladies hair pieces.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of proper housing.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is when I am from fetching water at around midday.