chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Cosmas's Profile
Cosmas's family
Cosmas
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
25
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Cosmas's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a boat and acquired fishing nets. I also bought building materials, I wish to build a house in August after harvesting maize from the farms.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I'm in the process of acquiring land where I'm going to establish my home. I also have a source of livelihood by investing in fishing.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 5,000 KES to buy fishing nets. I also purchased a sack of grains for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to settle some land bill I purchased on credit. I'm also planning to fence the very land I purchased then build a larger house with the remaining amount because my current house is smaller in size.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to pay some debt, I bought a piece of land and am not done paying. I also plan to expand my fishing activities by buying more fishing nets. The rest i will use to expand my house and to buy cattle and a ploughing machine for farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is this I have come, I was orphaned at a tender age and I have been depending on relatives. Through hardwork I have managed to buy land, build a house, buy cattle which I consider assets. My fishing business has also grown considering where I started from.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is uncertainty and fear of the unknown especially for the future of my children. Considering my difficult childhood I only want the the best for them and I am afraid that I may not be able to give them this.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up healthy and able to perform my duties. I pray first thing and I thank God.