chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Bidii's Profile
Bidii's family
Bidii
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($528 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Before GiveDirectly, We couldn't afford to buy my own livestock which we have now that is three cows and four goats . This is because the income we relied on which is burning charcoal and selling would barely cater to all our household expenses hence we were left to admire our neighbor's livestock. Today, I am happy to see my livestock graze as I rear them like my neighbors.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly offered us a chance to better our living standards with the money it donated to the poor like me . Whereas most beneficiaries invested on projects that had fundamental importance even in the future like purchasing livestock.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
20,000 KES of my second transfer, my spouse used on paying my dowry. His desire has always been to pay my dowry and do away with this customary passage unfortunately the biggest challenge was lack of finances. Through GiveDirectly iI am happy it has come to pass. I bought five goats ,a pair of school uniform and stationery. I also paid school fees for my child with the remaining amount .
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($535 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Before the coming of GiveDirectly, I had no livestock at all. I have always wanted to own a few but my financial status could not allow me to even buy the cheapest goat. I am grateful to GiveDirectly because I have managed to buy a cow and three goats. I am expecting them to reproduce and increase in number. These assets will help me in future especially when it comes to paying school fees for my children's who are still young as at now. I will be selling the offspring to raise more funds for their education and other crucial needs. To me owning this livestock is the biggest difference in my daily life.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I heard my phone ringing early that morning. A notification message came through at around 6:00 am. I had just woken up and was about to start my daily activities. When I checked, I was overwhelmed with joy as I read the contents of the message. It was from GiveDirectly indicating they had sent me my first transfer. I remember praying for this organization and thanking them for their kindness. I immediately began to plan on how best I could spend my transfer in a way that would change my living standard.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent KES 28000 of my first transfer on purchasing livestock. I bought a cow and three goats. I decided to buy this livestock because I know they will reproduce and sort out me out in case an emergency arises. I will also be benefiting from the milk that this cow will be producing. I will no longer be buying milk elsewhere. Apart from that, I can even sell the surplus and earn an income. In addition to that, I also spent KES 3000 to pay for my child school fees. I feel good because he won't be sent home more often due to fee arrears. I spent the remaining amount to cater for my household needs such as buying food and clothes for my children as well as paying for other household expenses.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I am a stay at home wife and for a very long time, I have wished to engage in an income generating activity aside from just performing general household chores. However, this has not been possible due to lack of finances. My husband's income from constructing houses has been helping us so far but I feel that we can do much better if I am also earning since he strains a lot in order to provide for us. With this money, I will set up a general shop within our village since the available shops are not very active yet the clientele base is very promising. With the balance, I will invest in livestock keeping that will reproduce and help us in future.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am normally very happy in the evening when I am resting after a hard day's work of sourcing for water.Currently in our village, there is shortage of water and we are forced to go to bamba town which is roughly 3kms away in search of this precious commodity. Since there is no money to hire motorbikes,we are forced to carry 20 litre jerricans on our heads so many trips. This exercise is very tiring and when coupled with the hot sun and other duties like cooking and cleaning, I normally feel very tired by evening and only wish to rest.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financial constraint is the biggest hardship that I face in life. My husband's job is not consistent,in a week he can only manage to work at most for three days. His pay per day is ksh. 800. This amount has never been enough for buying food,paying for school fees and tending to other emergencies like medical bills. The burden is too much on him and that is why I want to have another source of income so that we can help each other.