chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Loice's Profile
Loice's family
Loice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Carpentry
faceAge:
35
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different since have desired to boost my business. Through the transfer I was able to fulfill the my wish in a short time without any struggle. Furthermore, my husband business has developed and I also improved my poultry farming through my first transfer something that has Increase our income.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
I thank give directly for the transfer, we were able to boost our businesses by purchasing the machines and my kids are continuing with their education without any problems. I pray that give directly could reach many more people to assist them so that they may achieve their goal. I don't see anything wrong with give directly because I have fulfilled my dreams.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My husband is a carpenter, He has desired to acquire a wood surface planner machine that could improve his work. I spent $300 to purchase the wood surface planner for my husband. I also, I purchased a straight sewing machine for $140. I used $100 of the remaining amount to buy linen to boost my business. I saved the remaining amount for my children in their education account.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was working in my farm when my son brought my phone, saying there was a message. On checking the messages, I realised that I had received my first transfer from GiveDirectly. I felt happy for receiving this amount of money. I could not continue planting. I went back to my house and celebrated this good news with my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
My husband is a carpenter and owns a workshop in our trading center. He serves enough customers but at times he fails to work better due to inadequate tools. When I received my transfer, I purchased additional tools to boost his business which include a wood plane machine and other tools for this business. In addition, I also purchased enough stock of materials to enable him work effectively. This has enabled him to serve more clients and getting an increased income, which makes it to be the biggest difference in my daily life.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent a bigger portion of the first transfer on buying a wood plane machine for my husband who owns a carpentry workshop. This will boost his business and serve his clients efficiently. I am also running a poultry project from which I normally keep and sell chicken as a source of income. Thus I also took a portion of the money and purchased the indigenous chicken to add to this project. I saved the rest of the money for my children who are currently not in school due to the Covid-19 pandemic. I am planning to pay for their school fees when they resume their studies.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have been having the desire of owning a spacious house for my family of 6. Additionally, I had some projects which I started but came to an abrupt halt due to financial crisis. When I receive the transfer I intend to use 20,000 shillings to expand our house to three rooms. Also, I will use 20,000 shillings to boost my poultry commercial project by repairing the structure and adding more chicken. The remaining amount will be used to pay my children's school fees, buying food and clothing.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I usually spend my day doing my business of burning and selling charcoal, this kind of business is tiresome but when I reach in the evening I feel relaxed and become my happiest part of the day, because I rest and spending time interacting with my five children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My husband was working as a carpenter at a nearby workshop but he decided to quit the job and look for work with better pay. Unfortunately he got an accident and was admitted in the hospital for 5 months. We suffered financially during this time. We even resolved to borrow money from our relatives but nobody was willing to help us. I decided to do some casual jobs so that we get our daily meal for the family and raise some money for the hospital bill but this also wasn't enough. This was my biggest hardship in life.