chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Benta's Profile
Benta's family
Benta
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
53
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Benta's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I gave a deposit of 45,000KES on land which am intending to buy then bought a sack of maize at 3,000KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My children are attending school in a better way and am also going to have my own home after I complete the payment of the land.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid school fees for my two children 5000 KES and bought two sacks of maize @ 4000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will use the next transfer to buy a piece of land and build my home since am homeless.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my children, I will food for the family and buy land so that I can have my own home.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to take care of my children including educating them using my own business.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I have children who are still going to school and getting school fees for them is a problem.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when start my business in the morning every as a fishmonger so that I can have some money to support my family.