chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Looking after house/family
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from how it would have been had I never received the transfer since I now have two cows. Initially, I only depended on one source of income which was unreliable. It could not cater for most of my needs. I also could not handle emergencies without taking loans from friends and family. I am now gad since very soon I will have an alternative source of income after my cows will have started reproducing. With this, I will be able to meet most of my needs on time and avoid taking loans from people.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I currently have additional goals that I did not have before I started receiving the transfer. One of my goals is to finish my studies. I had differed at first due to lack of school fees. Neighbors had started talking bad about me saying I was expelled from schools throwing very nasty reasons as to why I was expelled. I am now glad that I will continue with my studies and pursue my dreams.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my most recent transfer to buy two cows to act as an investment. This will act as my alternative source of income since I will be selling milk on a daily basis after they have started reproducing. Apart from that, cows are easy to keep and requires less attention as long as there are enough grass and water. I used the remaining amount to buy a door to fix in my house which I am building at my upcountry home. These are some of the pending goals that needed my attention. I don't know how or when I could have accomplished all these without GiveDirectly.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal is to complete building my house and to start a second hand clothes business in my home.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my life is that my family will now have dignity from the new house that we are building in my matrimonial home. We will now have our own house and enjoy our freedom and time in the home.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfers to purchase iron sheets for constructing a house in my matrimonial home in Kisumu county. My husband and I lack a house in our home. We have been forced to live with his brother every time we travel upcountry. This not only strips us of our dignity, but it also denies us the freedom to have a relaxing and enjoyable time in the home. My husband is a mechanic and I am currently in school taking a course in Education. We depend entirely on his earnings which can be unreliable especially in moments when he does not get any jobs. We would have no means from anywhere to construct our own house. I am very happy and grateful to Give Directly.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was around 8:00 AM in the morning and I was in school at that time. I heard a message come into my phone and when I checked, it was the money coming in. I was very happy. I thanked Give Directly silently in my heart at that moment. I attended my class as usual as I kept thinking of how I would spend the money.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I will use this money first to help as in building our house in the rural home since we still doesn't have one and a house is a basic need. I will also use this money to help in paying up for my college fees since l am currently taking a course in tailoring. This money will also help me in investing in a cloth selling business since I have plans of getting cloth stock from Nairobi and retailing in the rural areas.
Describe your biggest worry.
My most troubling worry is always about housing issues that is we still doesn't have a house in our rural home and this being a festive season we will be going home but we can't have where to even sleep making as look for alternative especially by using my in-laws house. I also do worry about meeting my ambition especially since college fees is a problem to me. I am always unable to pay for fees on time because I doesn't have a job yet and my husband's income too is very low.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My main ambition is to be my own boss or manager in my business. That is I would like to be ensure that my business grows and expand and being my own boss will make be able to hire or employ other workers to help me in my business and I will treat them differently not like other employers who are very rude to their workers.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
In my usual day I do wake up very early in the morning, does house chores, and prepare tea.After that I go to college that is Mathare Vocational Training center where I am currently taking a course in tailoring. I do have classes up to around 5pm in the evening. While at my free time I do relax in my house, at times I do read magazine and my notes. At times I also go for group meetings.