chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kibet's Profile
Kibet's family
Kibet
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($521 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The biggest difference in my life because of these transfers is that I have a permanent house. In my life, with the kind of income I had, I never knew I could have a permanent house ever. I knew I could manage an iron-roofed house but did not know I could get a permanent house because of my small income from casual work in the village. After paying school fees for my children, the next thing I wanted to solve is building a decent house. I used the transfers to buy building materials such as iron sheets, timber and cement which I used with the ones I had to put up a permanent house. Anytime I look at the house, I see GD.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GD did well in giving cash to everyone in the village. There has no been any kind of help in my village. We really appreciate GD for the transfers. Everything to me worked out well.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent mt transfer on buying building materials such as iron sheets, nails and timber which I used on putting up a new house. I did not have a house and used to put up in old father's house and I needed some privacy as a young man. I am glad I have my own house now because of GD transfers. Without the transfers, I would have not have managed to get my own house by now. The other part of the transfer I used on buying a cow as investment for the transfers.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($542 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Before, we used to live in a small grass-thatched house which was hardly enough to accommodate all of us. Our lowest moments were during the rainy seasons. We did not enjoy the peace that comes with having a roof over our heads since that house had its roof leaking. Currently, the biggest difference is evidently seen in my daily life since I live in a decent house. Although I earn from manually jobs in the village, I no longer struggle as much to make ends meet doing two jobs in a day in order to save for the construction of a house like before but rather work to earn money which is enough for the provision of my family's daily needs.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received an Mpesa message at around 6: 30 AM . I was very happy since in my whole life I had never received such a lump- sum amount of money . I immediately, went to confirm whether money mother had also gotten hers since I am his helper..
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on building two new houses . One serves as a the main house and the other as the kitchen . I am proud and happy since my houses looks like the rest of my villagers' . On the other hand , I will no longer stay in a grassed thatched shelter that leaks which was my biggest challenge before .
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I started my own family two years ago and when my spouse arrived,my parents gave us an old house to live in.This is where we have been living since then.The house is in a deplorable state and I have not been able to even repair it due to lack of funds.We have then had to raise our young son in it.When I heard that Givedirectly will be enrolling in our village,I was elated since this means that through this transfer I will afford to build my family a better house.This makes me feel more fulfilled as the household head.Basing on my estimation,I will spend about Sh 76,000 to build a wooden house.The balance of sh 34,000 I intend to buy a dairy cow as a means of income to start us off.
What is the happiest part of your day?
After my failed attempts to secure employment,I resorted to casual motorbike taxi for a relative.I spend most of the day transporting people and goods within our locality.There are good and bad days as with any business and I always look forward to the days when there is more work (passengers) i.e on market days.This moment is the happiest for me because the more I have to do for the day,the more money I will have which translates to less dependence on my parents.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is securing employment.After High school,I enrolled for a driving course with the expectation that once I complete I will get a job which will enable me be independent.Since completion,I have been applying for jobs in vain and have even tried out the armed forces recruitment which I have failed to secure every year.The biggest challenge here is that now my family has to depend on our parents for some basics like milk for our young son because I have not been able to buy a cow.It is quite demeaning for a man of my age to depend on my parents and I have always wished that one day I will be in a position to support them on my own.