chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Priska's Profile
Priska's family
Priska
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
86
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Priska's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to buy my clothes and cooking utensils. Bought a cow worth 10000 KES. Paid 6000KES fee to my grandson in high school. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now own a cow and someday will own herd of animal. Besides, my grandchild is always in school and I'm certain his performance will improve.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought utensils ,Radio and food .
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to pay my grandchildren school fee and to buy a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use this transfer to pay school fees for my grandchildren who are orpharns.I would also like to buy a cow and keep .
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that when I was still doing business,I managed to build a house for myself and I also managed to raise and educate my grandchild who became an orphan at a tender up to form four level.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that right now I fully dependbon my sons and relative to carter for all my needs since I am sick and can not do anything.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of my day is when I am able to stand and do something since I am sickling and at times I just stay in the house.