chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Elisha's Profile
Elisha's family
Elisha
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
29
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53200 KES ($482 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different now because I have managed to build a decent house for my family using my first transfer, I then used my second transfer in buying two dairy cows so that I could cut down on the cost of buying milk daily, I then fenced my land to avoid idlers and thieves intruding, I am so happy and thankful that I was able to accomplish my dream within a short period, I am grateful that GiveDirectly has lifted my living standard to a better and a higher level in my society.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly staffs are polite and nice, throughout my interaction with them I did not see anything that was not done correctly. I am grateful for the unconditional transfer that changed my life positively.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am a motorcycle rider famously known as "bodaboda" I do offer taxi services in and outside the village, When GiveDirectly staff came to our village, I knew that God had finally remembered us, we heard about the organization giving out unconditional cash to other villagers long ago, we thought that we had been left out. When I received the second transfer I bought a dairy cow with it so that I could cut down on the expenses of buying milk daily, therefore, used KES 39,000, I then used KES 11,700 in fencing the boundaries of my land to avoid intruders and idlers. I am so thankful for the support that changed our lives.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($510 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was on my way home when I heard of the message notification, I could not hide my joy, I called my wife and told her of the good news, she was so happy and anxious.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference is that I used to live in a grass-thatched house before but with the transfer, I was able to upgrade to an Iron sheet house, which is spacious and decent, I was unable to build a house before due to my low income,l also bought 2 dairy cows which I am optimistic that in future I will be able to earn an income out of it, I am so grateful that with the support I was able to improve my living standards.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used my transfer to build a house, I also bought a dairy cow so that I would be able to earn an income in future by selling dairy products, I am so grateful for the support.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
We live in a small grass-thatched house that is less spacious. This house cannot comfortably accommodate the six members of my family. When visitors or neighbors come, we welcome them outside under a tree depending on their number. Receiving this money will mean that I will be able to use 33,000 shillings to construct a semi-permanent house. By doing this, my two kids who are schooling will have a peaceful study room of their own. When visitors pass by, we will also have ample space to accommodate them. Privacy will also be restored since there would be separate bedrooms for children and us as parents.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I spend most of my daytime on the road since I do the motorbike taxi business. The happiest part of my day is in the morning since this is the rush hour time and passengers are many yearning to go to their place of work. It is at this time that I have a surety that I will get a good number of them and as a result a good income.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I own a motorbike that I normally use for the taxi business. The motorbike is old and requires frequent servicing and repair for it to function well. I usually get 500 shillings on a working day as income from the business. By subtracting the expenses costs, I am left with 300 shillings. This amount is only able to sustain my family's basic needs with no amount to save. Financing my house construction is the biggest hardship that I have ever experienced since I cannot have the required amount of over 30000 shillings to realize this. I am forced to live with my four family members in a small grass-thatched house with little privacy.