chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Tobias's Profile
Tobias's family
Tobias
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
46
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($465 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent part of my third transfer on buying building materials that I used to construct an iron roofed house kitchen. Previously I used to have a grass thatched house. I also bought a bull for ploughing and the remaining on buying food for my family consumes. I am grateful for the money I received from GiveDirectly as it has made me have the things I never had before.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
From my second transfer, I spent 25,000 KES, to buy a cow, bought iron sheet 6,500 KES, spent 10,000 KES to pay my medical bills, spent 1,000 KES to pay school fees, bought uniform for my children at 800 kES, bought 1 sack of maize at 3,000 KES, and the remaining 3,500 KES, I spent to buy a goat.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my children are not sent home for school
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought two school uniforms at 600 KES, a goat at 3,500 KES, a sheep at 3,000 KES and one mattress at 2,400 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to buy a milk cow then use the rest to build a house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Am planning to use the money to build a three roomed house and cement it., pay school fees for my children three children in school and take my son to vocational training to train in welding.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is building this iron sheet house. I used to live in a small grass thatched house but out of my hardwork, I was able to build a better iron sheets house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is I don't have a job I depend on farming and providing for my family is very hard since the crops don't do well sometimes.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am in my farm working since it's the only source of income I have.