GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Melda's Profile
Melda's family
Melda
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
27
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
Since I was married, it is now over ten years staying together, but my husband has never paid my dowry, so when I received my third transfer, my husband spent it on paying my dowry. I now feel like a woman like my fellow women in my community.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($491 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on plastering my house and fixing steel door and steel windors because my house was in very bad condition.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a good house
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
When i got the money, i had school fees arrears of 3000KES for my Kindergertin children that i paid i also bought six plastice chairs that took me 3900KES. The remaining amount used to buy personal effects like panties for me and my children and food too.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
When i receive that money i want to refurbish my house to make it neat.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to cement my house to improve our health. Secondly l would wish to use some of the money to buy household items for my house. Finally l would like to pay dowry to my parents since my husband has not gone to my parents.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled to build our own home since we used to stay in a very small house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is unreliable source of income to pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when fellowshiping together with my fellows.