GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($473 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on buying a solar panel, paying school fees and i have kept the remaining money in a savings account. I saved a large sum of my transfer because i am planning to take my child to a polytechnic school come next year.My hopes lies with his education because when he is done with school, he will be able take care of his siblings.I also bought a solar panel to help with the lighting of my home as buying kerosene was expensive.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes,i am hoping to find a job soon in order to see my children through school,my prayer has always been to see them became independent.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if i never received the transfer because my children have been able to stay in school without being sent home for school fees,bought a source of lighting in my home, seats and my son will be able to pursue his education come next year.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on clearing fees for my child.I also bought chairs,2 sacks of maize,utensils,mattress,blanket,clothes,uniform and food for my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have chairs in my house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I never had a chair and therefore I spent the whole of my token payment on a sofa set.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
One of my children has been staying at home yet her colleagues are in school and therefore when I get this upcoming lumpsum payment, I will enroll her to a college.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to rebuild my house,buy some furniture and pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is I have taken some of my children up to high school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that house is poorly made and when it rains it becomes flooded.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am resting.