GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Caroline's Profile
Caroline's family
Caroline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Caroline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
from my second transfer, I bought a bed at 6,500 KES, bought a mattress at 5,500 KES, bought solar at 7,000 KES, bought solar battery at 7,500 KES, bought 5 plastic chairs at 3,250, bought a table at 4,000 KES, bought 1 sack of maize at 3,500 KES and the remaining 10,000 KES, I have kept as savings.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life is different in that, my children are healthy and clean like any other children in the village, I sleep on clean bedding's unlike before
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to buy cushions KES 3000, utensils KES 2600, shoes for 4 children KES 1200, food KES 2300 and paid primary fees for 2 children KES 800.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to invest my upcoming lump-sum payment in a shop
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I intend to use my transfer on leasing some land then put up a small structure for rental at our nearby center,this will help us in generating some small income for the family.The remaining bit I will use to pay school fees for my children in primary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I'm most proudest of is having been able to build our current house.When I got married,I found my husband living in a very small house and together we saved some money and build our current house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face currently in our life is on making ends meet.The crops are not doing better since the soil here is not fertile.We hence struggle to raise our family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is normally in the afternoon when I visit my local church to praise the Lord and seek divine interventions on the challenges I face in my life.