GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Benard's Profile
Benard's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Benard's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30,000 KES on paying bride price (buying two cows and other expenses), bought a bed at 4,000 KES, mattress at 5,500 KES and a bag of dry maize at 3,000 KES. The rest of the money has been spent on daily food expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference to me has been being able to pay bride price to my spouse's family. This has made me to have a peace of mind as the tension between our families has been reduced.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the 10,000 KSH to build the kitchen.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to by cow and start a business.
access_time almost 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to buy a dairy Cow that will give us milk for consumption. I also plan to extend my house because it is small.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l managed to establish my own home and I'm now doing well because I'm able do any kind of development in my compound.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of steady source of income that can enable me sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning while working in my garden as I monitor how my crops are growing up.